The Catholic Diocese of Homa Bay (CDoHB) was created on the 12th of November, 1993.

The Diocese is a curve from the larger Catholic Diocese of Kisii and is part of the Metropolitan See of Kisumu, Kenya. It borders Ngong’, Kisii and Kisumu Dioceses.

The Catholic Diocese of Homa Bay enjoys a rich cultural diversity encompassing nearly all the tribes and communities of our country Kenya. The Diocese has an estimated population of about 2.3 million peoples, with an estimated population of over 600,000 Catholic population, scattered in 33 Parishes.

Geographically the Diocese is located in Nyanza Province, in the South Western part of Kenya. It also Borders Lake Victoria to the west, and extends along the shore to Tanzania eastwards, covering an area estimated to be about 7,778 sq km.

The Diocese covers two counties; Homa Bay and Migori counties respectively with largely the Luo, Abasuba, Kuria, Kisii, Luhya and the Maasai communities.